Travel Resources

A 'disclaimer' at the top:  While I've tried to categorize these links to some degree, some of them don't fit into a specific category very well.  For example many of the organization links in the Volunteer section also have Gap Year and Adventure opportunities.  So...  look hard and don't give up.  I'm sure you'll find what you are looking for.

Verge Magazine - http://www.vergemagazine.org
Transitions Abroad - http://www.transitionsabroad.com
Jet Set Zero - http://www.jetsetzero.tv

Books
Volunteer - A Traveller's Guide to Making a Different Around the World
The New Global Student
The Gap Year Advantage

Travel Website Links 
The Adventure Travel Company - http://www.atcadventure.com/en/default.asp
The Backpacker's Ultimate Travel Guide - http://bug.co.uk
Southeast Asia (TravelFish) - http://travelfish.org
CouchSurfing Project - http://couchsurfing.com
The Cruise People - http://www.TheCruisePeople.ca (travel on a frieghter)
Travel Cuts - http://www.travelcuts.com
British Schools Exploring Society Expeditions - http://www.bses.org.uk
Earth Watch Institute  - http://www.earthwatch.org
US National Park Service  - http://www.nps.gov
Outward Bound  - http://www.outwardbound.com 

Studying Abroad Website Links
College year in Athens - http://www.cyathens.org
Sea Mester - http://www.seamester.com/go (semester on ship)
International Studies Abroad - http://www.studiesaboad.com
Accent International  - http://www.accentintl.com
British American Educational Foundation  - http://www.baef.org
Cesa Languages Abroad  - http://www.cesalanguages.com
Council on International Educational Exchange  - http://www.ciee.org
The Experiment in International Living (high school international summer abroad)  - http://www.experimentinternational.org/
Flying Fish Online - http://www.flyingfishonline.com
Institute for Central American Studies  - http://www.iCads.org
Leap Now  - http://www.leapnow.org
Nacel Open Door  - http://www.nacelopendoor.org
Semester At Sea  - http://www.semesteratsea.com
Up With People  - http://www.upwithpeople.org
Youth for Understanding  - http://www.yfu-USA.org

Gap Year Website Links
GapYear.com - http://www.gapyear.com
Globe Aware - Adventures in Service - http://www.globeaware.org
Gap Year Abroad - http://www.gapyearabroad.ca/index.asp
iGapYear.com - http://www.igapyear.com

Volunteering Abroad Website Links
Amigos - http://www.amigoslink.org
Global Vision International - http://www.gviusa.com
Blue Ventures - http://www.blueventures.org
Global Citizens Network - http://www.globalcitizens.org
Global Crossroad - http://www.globalcrossroad.com
Global Routes - http://www.globalroutes.org
Global Service Corps - http://www.globalservicecorps.org
Global Volunteer Network - http://www.globalvolunteernetwork.org
I to I - http://www.i-to-i.com
International Partnership for Service-Learning and Leadership - http://www.ipsl.org
International Volunteer Program - http://www.ivpsf.org
Restless Development - http://www.restlessdevelopment.org
The Venture Company - http://www.ventureco-worldwide.com
YR Learning Connections - http://www.yourworldtodiscover.ca
Cross-Cultural Solutions - http://www.crossculturalsolutions.org
Conservation Volunteers for Africa - http://www.conservationAfrica.net
The Red Cross - http://www.redcross.org
City Year  - http://www.cityyear.org
Habitat for Humanity  - http://www.habitat.org
Public Allies  - http://www.publicallies.org
Thesca  - http://www.Thesca.org
World Volunteer Web  - http://www.worldvolunteerweb.org
Volunteering Australia - http://www.volunteeringaustralia.org
Volunteering New Zealand - http://www.volunteeringnz.org.nz
University of Minnesota Learning Abroad Center - http://umabroad.umn.edu
University of Michigan International Center - http://internationalcenter.umich.edu


Working Abroad Website Links
Anywork Anywhere - http://www.anyworkanywhere.com/index.html
SeasonWorkers.com - http://www.seasonworkers.com
The NuNomad - http://www.nunomad.com/be-nomad.htm
BridgeTEFL - http://www.bridgeTEFL.com

WorldTeach - http://www.worldteach.org
Canadian Connection - http://www.canconx.com (teach in Korea)
Bunac  - http://www.bunac.org
Educators Abroad  - http://www.eltap.org
Foundation for Sustainable Development  - http://www.fsdinternational.org
Institute for Cultural Ecology  - http://www.cultural-ecology.com
InterExchange - an exchange site  - http://www.interexchange.org

International Internship Website Links
GlobeTrotters Eductaion Consulting Inc - http://www.globetrotterseducation.ca
Horizon Cosmopolite - http://horizoncosmopolite.com
SWAP Canada - http://www.swap.ca/
IAESTE Canada - http://www.queensu.ca/iaeste
Adelante - http://adelanteabroad.com
Amerispan - http://amerispan.com
CDS International - http://cdsintl.org
Interexchange - http://workingabroad.org
Project Abroad - http://projects-abroad.org
GVI-USA - http://gviusa.com/volunteer-options/internships
World Endeavors - http://worldendeavors.com/intern
Global Experiences - http://globalexperineces.com/internships

1 comment:

  1. Dave's ESL Cafe is indeed a great place to find jobs & recruiters, but anyone who pays can advertise on the website. As a general rule of thumb, I always recommend teachers looking for jobs to stick to foreign agencies. . You'll get a feel for who are professional quickly based on their language skills, if they have a website, etc. Try searching the internet for message boards with reviews of recruiters or schools.Some of my friends found jobs through Teaching Nomad. They seem to be pretty legit, but unfortunately only recruit for China.

    ReplyDelete